Project 52 – Week 30 – Flying/Flight/Journey

Welcome to Project 52 – where some super awesome photographers interpret a theme each week. This week is flying/flight/journey. I decided to show the “journey” my five year old has recently taken. Two weeks ago, he started swim lessons at our local University. But before I get into that, I will start from the beginning…

Two summers ago, my son took his first swim lessons at a local program. It was a fun atmosphere and I saw a new confidence from my three year old that summer. Since we have an in-ground pool, I knew that lessons were important for my little man. However, I still didn’t have the confidence that if he got into trouble he would know what to do. So, I signed him up for another two week session the summer he was four. Again, my son loved the lessons, however again, I did not have the confidence that he could know what to do. Now, don’t get me wrong, I think it is a great program and will put both my boys in it again. However, for my son, I don’t think that it really has started the foundation of swimming, but it will teach him how to improve it.

Fast forward to this year. He is now five and I knew that he needed to swim this summer. So, I have been hearing about West Chester University swim lessons for years. This was where they just throw them in and sink or swim, is what I heard. After doing research, however, it wasn’t anything like that. It was more than double the cost of the other program I was doing, however with a 90% success rate, how could I not try them. Not to mention, that the money goes to scholarships for the swim team and both my husband and I are alumni from there. And, I am on the Alumni Committee, so really, what a great way to support our school. Two weeks ago, if you put my boy in the water without swimmies, he would go right down. Two weeks ago, he was scared to be in the pool without swimmies…TODAY he can swim!!! After four days there he was able to jump in and swim to the side. I was so relieved to see my little man swimming!!! Not to mention the complete pride coming from him!!! This was definitely an awesome decision for me. Next year, both my boys are going. By then I will have a three and six year old and hopefully two swimmers!! Here is a little storyboard of him jumping off the diving board and going to the side!!

Now, please continue the journey and check out what these ladies have to offer!!! You won’t be disappointed!

First, please start with the amazing Gail Pomare of Aroha Photography!

Aroha Photography of Santa Cruz – San Jose

About dtrigophotography

Photographer and Mother
This entry was posted in Project 52. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Project 52 – Week 30 – Flying/Flight/Journey

  1. Pingback: Project 52 – Week 30: Flying/Flight/Journey

  2. Gail Pomare says:

    Oh Hallelujah …. good gracious me what an accomplishment! I did read somewhere that the National Board of Pediatrics recommended not starting swim lessons until they were four because developmentally… they just aren’t there yet. Physically they are capable but mentally not so much. And I remember the article saying that it kind of lulled parents into a false sense of security thinking their kid could save their own lives, when in actual fact developmentally – they wouldn’t. So glad to see that you are living proof of the changes that happen for our kids when they are dev. ready. YAY.. GREAT shots. so happy to see. (sorry for my book length comment)

  3. Patricia says:

    I agree with Gail. Luna hated the water until now that she is 5. She even cried every time we had to wash her hair. I never pushed her to swim, because I remember being scared of the water as a young child. This year however, she decided she can put her face on the water and I even taught her to blow bubbles and she can do it, just like she always knew how to! We are ready for swimming lesson I guess! I love to swim and did that for a long time….Great capture of a great time!

  4. Awe, good for him! I really need to put my boys in swimming lessons too.

  5. Sari says:

    So great! My kids have done the ISR lessons which are super helpful.

  6. Haley says:

    Yeah for your son!!!! That is awesome! What a journey for him. My five year old thinks he can already swim and refuses to take lessons. I have him signed up anyway 🙂 . Love that you were able to capture the sequence – very fun!

  7. staci bailey says:

    awesome! my son just turned 6 and still won’t try…ugh. looks like it might be the toss for this mama…..no way…not really. My mom and dad did that to me and I have never forgot it….I won’t pass on that! ha! Congrats to him!

Leave a comment